Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
You are in :

How are Members of the Senedd elected?

There are a total of 60 Members in the Senedd - 40 of them are constituency Members, representing the same local constituencies as Westminster MPs; the other 20 are regional Members, who represent one of the five regions of Wales.

Everyone in Wales is represented by one constituency Member and four regional Members. All regional and constituency Members have equal status in the Senedd. This means that the interests of all of Wales’s regions and constituencies are equally represented.

Regional Members

The five regions are: North Wales, Mid and West Wales, South Wales West, South Wales Central, South Wales East. Each has four seats.

The 20 regional Members are chosen by proportional representation. This makes sure that the final make-up of the Senedd reflects the support for each party across the country.

Constituency Members

The 40 constituency Members are chosen by the first-past-the-post system. The candidate with most votes is then elected.

How does the regional system work?

This is how the regional system works:

  • each party or group in a region presents a list of candidates;

  • electors vote for their chosen party;

  • the votes for the regions are usually counted after the constituency votes have been decided;

  • each party’s total is divided by 1 + the number of Members of the Senedd it already has in that region;

  • the party with the highest total after this calculation gets the next seat and the person on top of its list is elected;

  • the same pattern is repeated until all four regional seats have been decided.



Partners & Help